Did Burning Man Jump the Shark?

BM2012_048There are two kinds of people in this world; people who have never been to Burning Man, and people who never stop talking about Burning Man.

Don’t get me wrong; I have plenty of friends who have been, and yes, I’m sure it was life-changing. I just know my limitations and running around in a desert dust storm wearing fun fur and a gas mask is where I draw the line.

And who knows, maybe some of you Burning Man regulars might reconsider your next trip when you see your annual pilgrimage has made an appearance in a Taco Bell ad. I mean, maybe it wasn’t THE Burning Man, but it was made up to look like it was filmed on location, and one of the actors was identified as “the burner”.

I would love some real burners to weigh in. Let me know what you think in the comments section.

This spot was created by Deutsch, LA.

4 Comments

Filed under Just General Ad Stuff

4 responses to “Did Burning Man Jump the Shark?

  1. Leah Nichols

    I think I just like that “fun fur” is an actual tag in this post.

  2. Doug

    I don’t think BM jumped the shark, but Taco Bell did a long time ago. Years ago on April 1st they took out a full page add in either the NYT or WSJ with a photo of the Liberty Bell, announcing that they’d bought it and renamed it the Taco Liberty Bell. In any event, fur and tacos don’t go very well, as the fur gets in your teeth and is hard to get out. But if you eat enough bean tacos, your friends might well need a gas mask.

Leave a Reply

