Leap Years Can Get Ugly

Today is February 29th, which makes this a leap year.

I thought in honour of this rare occasion, I would find some sort of leap year related commercial to share with you. I succeeded in finding one… but it ain’t pretty. And to be perfectly honest, I couldn’t understand what it was for, even after watching it twice.

I did a little digging and found that the spot was created by Lowe and Partners back in 2004 for Runners Need, a UK-based running shop. The agency based the ad on the “tradition” of women proposing to men on leap years. I never heard of this until today, not that it matters as I strongly feel that only gays should marry.

This spot, besides being gross, doesn’t provide any unique selling propositions as to why a viewer should shop at Runners Need. To be truthful, I bet all it did was remind ladies to book in for their next wax.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

5 Comments

Filed under Just General Ad Stuff

5 responses to “Leap Years Can Get Ugly

  1. Chris

    I believe the humour comes from the fact that if a man is proposed to on Feb 29th, tradition dictates that he cannot refuse, or must pay some kind of compensation if he does refuse.

  2. Jackie Burgmann

    Yah, but you didn’t warn me LOUD enough….!!!

Leave a Reply

