Stop Whining

I sometimes post things with which I disagree, and today’s adverts would certainly fall into that category. However, that’s not to say they’re no good. Confused? Read on.

According to DB Export Dry, a brand of beer from New Zealand, the main problem with wine is the taste. (LIES! LYING LIARS!) The idea behind this new campaign, created by Colenso BBDO, Auckland, is that “wine can’t hurt your mouth if you have an Export Dry in your hand”. (You know that you can drink wine direct from the bottle, too?)

Regardless of the defamatory messaging, the commercials are fairly entertaining and perfectly on target.

This spot reminds me of when I would visit with my grandfather and he’d pour me scotch. That’s how I eventually acquired the taste for it. Listening to the same, never-ending stories over and over again while I watched the ice cubes melt… or disintegrate, whatever.

2 Comments

Filed under Just General Ad Stuff

2 responses to “Stop Whining

  1. Kendra

    Loving the “Export Dry…s” bit. Really clever spots!

  2. Love it. Hits it right on the mark.

Leave a Reply

