Baby’s Bad Day At The Office

Have you ever had those days where you just could not stand your job? I’m sure we’ve all experienced it at one point or another. When I first graduated high school, I took a job in the shipping department of well-known bus company. It was during Christmas time, when the line for sending parcels went out the door and wrapped around the building from the time that we opened until the time that we closed.

We were all working as hard and as fast as we possibly could. And the technology that we used back then wasn’t exactly cutting-edge. There was a lot of hand-writing and manual weighing of parcels. A lot of conversation needed to take place to process the parcels. People would come in with gift-wrapped boxes, having cards attached with a piece of scotch tape on the outside, expecting full-well that this gift would make it from Abbotsford to Oshawa in bus trailer, unscathed, with the card still attached.

Needless to say we had to re-wrap many of the items that came through. Top that up with the industrial shipping that was still going on. Engine blocks and helicopter parts (I had some pretty big biceps at that time from all the lifting).

Anyway, it was almost nine at night. I had been working since eight in the morning. My feet were killing me, I was hungry and could not wait to sit down. The last customer came in and I started asking her for her shipping info – did she want insurance, anything breakable, explosive, alive, etc. when she unexpectedly started in on me. “Do you know how long I’ve been waiting?” “Why do you people not have longer hours?” “This is the worst experience of my life.” “Maybe if you worked faster and more efficiently, I would not have to wait in such a long line.”

I was doing everything in my power to not bite her head off. But it got so bad that I took a breath, excused myself and went to the back and poured myself a coffee. She was still at the counter, I’m sure planning her next insult. I sat down, thumbed through the paper. Took a sip of the burnt coffee, and starting working on mustering up the strength to go out and finish up with this… lady.

Eventually I did. I pretty much ignored her constant berating, and at the end, told her to have a Merry Christmas. That job was an experience to say the least. Whatever doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger, right? It might not have been the best plan of action, but it probably saved me an assault charge.

Web Urbanist put together a list of bizarre, terrible and just plain strange jobs. I didn’t even know some of these existed. http://bit.ly/76KbGA I’m considering applying for the Professional Sleeper job. I have a lot of experience.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just General Ad Stuff, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

