Respect the Road

Traffic sucks. And everyone, except for me, is an idiot driver.

At least that’s how I used to feel when I would commute into the city each day. I would spend two to three hours in my car every day of the week – and what little left I had of a soul, was quickly destroyed.

But that’s all in the past. I made the decision some years ago to only take a job where my commute would be by bus, foot or bicycle – and under 30 minutes each way. No more road rage for me… unlike these kids.

The following ad shows just how childish road rage really is.

This is a great example of a social media campaign gone wrong.

The commercial drives people to Facebook.com/irespecttheroad – but once you get there, you’re told to go to Axa Insurance’s Facebook page instead.

After poking around ‘I respect the road’ and finding the page totally neglected and looking like it was set up by one of the five-year olds in the commercial, I went to find Axa Insurance’s page. Once I got there, I found no mention of ‘I respect the road’, what it stands for, and why people should care. Bizarre.

It’s a shame because this video is getting quite a lot of traction lately. This had the potential to be a good campaign, but driving viewers from a video, to a Facebook page, to another Facebook page, then to a website – and not providing any continuity, instruction or ask… well they totally crashed and burned.

No pun intended.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just General Ad Stuff

Leave a Reply

